Board of Trustees

Trustees approved at the AGM on 21st November 2017 were:


David Davis, Chair, is an architect who set up his city centre practice 30 years ago. David volunteers as a governor at the Sixth Form College, Worcester, is a member of the Conservation Area Advisory committee, a voluntary body that advises the City Council and serves as Charity Steward for two masonic lodges. David has experience of small business management and charitable giving.


John Warham, Vice Chair, worked in the Defence Industry primarily as an independent Engineering Consultant running his own limited company.  John is experienced in Project Management, Risk and Cost Control.  Following retirement he wanted to provide something back to the community and, after receiving a recruitment notice, he applied to join the Board.  He has since become a regular volunteer driver of the minibuses as well.


Pat Davis worked in the public sector for over thirty years, mainly in Human Resources at Worcester College of Technology (now Heart of Worcestershire College).  She has experience of volunteering in family and dementia charities. Pat is now retired and advises on Human Resources issues. Pat chose to become a Trustee as she wanted to use her human resources experience to support a local charity working with disadvantaged people.


Graham Heath is a recently retired business manager and director who has worked in UK financial services, specifically in the areas of commercial insurance and risk management. Graham brings his experience of business risk management and sales and marketing to the role of Trustee, and is keen to utilise his commercial experience to support the local community.


Lin McCall has recently retired from her role as Ward Manager of a neurology/brain injury ward at Gloucester Royal Hospital, caring for people with life changing and life limiting illnesses. Originally from Birmingham, Lin moved to Worcester in 1997.  She brings to the role of Trustees here extensive management skills from running a very busy ward including health and safety, budget control and effective communications skills.


Marion Sacharin runs a software development company established in 1989. She is also a lecturer with the Open University, teaching IT related subjects. She volunteers for a number of organisations. Her particular area of expertise in the voluntary sector is volunteer management and motivation, providing an important contrast to the technological environment of her day job. In her spare time, she knits. Marion believes that trustees are essential to the success of any charity. Worcester Wheels provides a necessary service to vulnerable people and she hopes she can use her professional and people skills to help it continue and improve.


Tim Sherwood qualified as a solicitor over 40 years ago and was a partner in a firm of solicitors in Worcester for some 35 years, being senior partner for 6 years.  For about 25 years he was the Deputy Coroner for Worcestershire and was the clerk to a local charity for about 30 years.  Tim was also a school governor for about 15 years and chairman for about 10 of those years. Tim chose to become a Trustee as he hoped to be able to use his professional skills to make a contribution to a very worthwhile charity.


Valerie Stokes has been a trustee of the charity since 1992.  Val was CEO of Age Concern (later Age UK) Worcester for 20 years.  Val was instrumental in the growth of Age Concern and for the introduction of their charity shops locally.  She has spent time as a volunteer for Worcester Wheels.

For more information about the role of a Trustee, see the following links:

Comments are closed